web development

Originally published by Sunstar

Cebu FC earned its first point in the 2022 Philippines Football League (PFL) after a 1-1 draw against arguably the best team in the league, defending champion United City FC, last Saturday night at the Rizal Memorial Football Stadium in Manila.

Cebu FC, which lost to Kaya FC-Iloilo in its season debut, was very competitive against UCFC, which has won the league title for the last four seasons.

UCFC finally found its mark with a goal by striker Mark Hartmann in the 71st minute.

Cebu FC equalized just in the nick of time after substitute JB Borlongan hit the back of the net in the 87th minute.

UCFC controlled the ball more and had the better scoring opportunities by a wide margin. UCFC had a total of 22 shots with 12 on target compared to Cebu FC’s 15 total shots and five on target.

On the other hand, Kaya FC had a dominant performance for another win, while Azkals Development Team (ADT) also walked away with a convincing victory.

Kaya FC totally outclassed Mendiola FC 1991, 6-1.

Kaya FC found themselves down early on following a goal by Aaron Altiche in the 21st minute. That was the closest that Mendiola was to winning as Kaya FC dominated the rest of the match, scoring six straight goals. Kaya skipper Jovin Bedic scored the equalizer with a header in the 40th minute.

Eric Giganto joined the fray with a goal in 47th, Jarvey Gayoso scored in the 55th minute, Bedic scored a brace in the 75th minute, Daizo Horikoshi added in the 88th minute and Jhanjhan Melliza finished it off with a 92nd-minute.

Veteran star Stephan Schrock led the young ADT to a 4-0 win over Maharlika Manila FC.

Andres Aldeguer scored the opening goal in the 21st minute. Dominic Tom doubled the lead with a goal in the 50th minute, followed by a goal by Schrock in four minutes later.

Chester Pabualan put the icing on the cake with a 68th-minute free kick goal.

Kaya FC now holds the top spot with nine points, UCFC is second with seven points, Stallion is third with six points. ADT is fourth with three points, while Cebu FC is fifth with a point. Maharlika FC and Mendiola FC are at the bottom with no points.