web development

Originally published by Manila News

The Camiguin Misamis Oriental Regional Football Association (CMORFA) said Monday it will host the Philippine Football Federation (PFF) National Boys U19 Championship 2022.

In an interview, CMORFA president Mike Batiles said the regional tournament on June 24-28 here will be the club’s biggest project so far since the under 19-years-old football competition returned after more than two years of absence due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Batiles has taken the challenge of hosting three other teams from Group G Agusan del Sur-Surigao del Sur RFA (AGSURRFA), Butuan-Agusan del Norte FA, and Surigao del Norte and Dinagat Island RFA.

Originally, the AGSURRFA was supposed to host this elimination tournament but because of the travel distance, the PFF decided to move the tournament to the city.

The competition will be a single round-robin with the top team advancing to the National Group Stage which will be hosted by the PFF probably at the PFF training center in Carmona, Cavite.

The Group G winner will play against the top teams from the 2nd Division teams.

Other 2nd Division teams are Group A-Central Luzon FA, United City FC, Palawan FA, and Pangasinan, Group B-Mimaropa RFA, RFA of Camarines Norte, Central Bicol RFA, Albay-Catanduanes RFA, Group C-Cavite FA, FA of Rizal, Quezon-Batangas FA, Stallion FC, Kaya FC.

For Group D, are the Central Visayas RFA, Eastern Visayas RFA, and Negros Oriental-Siquijor RFA.

Meanwhile, Group E includes Maguindanao RFA, Sultan Kudarat RFA, North Davao RFA, Golden Davao RFA, Bukidnon FA, Group F-Iligan-Lanao RFA, Zamboanga-Sulu-Tawi-Tawi FA, Pagadian-Zamboanga del Sur Sibugay RFA, and Misamis Occidental-Ozamis FA, Group H-Bukidnon FA, Maguindanao RFA, Sultan Kudarat RFA, Golden Davao RFA, and North Davao RFA.

The 1st Division teams are Group A (Luzon), which includes the National Capital Region FA, Negros Occidental FA, Laguna Cavite FA, Laguna Cavite FA, South East Luzon Masbate RFA, Cordillera FA.

Group B (Mindanao) includes Davao South RFA, Mount Apo RFA, Iloilo FA, Zamboanga del Norte-Dipolog FA, and Soccsksargen RFA.

The qualifiers in both divisions will play a single round-robin tournament in the National Stage Group.

The top two teams in both divisions will then advance to the Battle for 3rd Place and Championship Match which is a single-match knockout to be played in the same venue.

This tournament is designed to strengthen age group teams of the PFF which would, later, be developed to play for the national senior team.

Top players will be selected to form the national U19 team.

After this, other national age-group competitions are lined-up like the National Boys U16 and the National Girls U18. (PNA)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.