web development

Originally published by Panay News Online

United City Football Club cruised to a come-from-behind 3-2 beating of Kaya Futbol Club-Iloilo to rule the 2022 Copa Paulino Alcantara on Sunday night at the PFF National Training Center in Carmona, Cavite.

Kenshiro Daniels, Hikaru Minegishi and Mike Ott scored a goal each as the revamped United City FC reclaimed the Copa crown after they opted not to participate last year.

United City FC drew first blood in the gold medal game as Daniels cruised past the defense of Kaya-Iloilo. The Ilonggos quickly tied the score at the 14th minute behind Robert Lopez Mendy.

Following exchange of misses, the dethroned champions Kaya-Iloilo gained the advantage before the halftime break on a conversion by Ilonggo Jhan Melliza.

United City FC was quick to respond in the second half as Minegishi took advantage of a displaced defense of Kaya-Iloilo to tie the score at 2-all at the 52nd minute.

United City reclaimed the advantage at the 68th minute as Ott connects from a corner kick. Kaya-Iloilo had several chances to tie but the defense of Anthony Pinthus prevented them from doing so.

Ott was later hailed as Golden Ball winner, while Pinthus was the Golden Glove. Kaya-Iloilo’s Daizo Horikoshi was awarded as the Golden Boot for topping the league with six goals.

Stallion-Laguna Football Club, meanwhile, salvaged a bronze medal finish in the competition with a 2-1 beating of Dynamic Herb Cebu Football Club in the battle-for-third place game.

Jo Warren Bedia scored the game-winning goal for the no.4 ranked Stallion-Laguna as he knocked off the goal past the tight Cebu defense at the 88th minute mark.

Stallion-Laguna drew first blood in the bronze medal match as Abou Sy converted at the 17th minute mark. Dynamic Herb tied the score at the 33rd minute courtesy of Arda Cinkir.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.